Skip to main content

Are you ready to Grow With Us? Kicking off a county-wide planning process

By August 10, 2020August 13th, 2020No Comments
Lexington County is undertaking a long-range planning effort to establish a vision and policies for how and where the County will responsibly grow over the next decade. It is crucial that this plan be built on the values, needs and aspirations of the community.


This comprehensive planning process branded as Grow With Us, officially kicked-off at the end of July with a series of meetings with County staff, stakeholders, Steering Committee and the County Council. The kick-off meetings were an opportunity to introduce the consultant team helping to facilitate the process to the County, as well as, explore potential objectives and opportunities that should be addressed in the plan.

To help ensure that the community’s values, needs and aspirations are reflected throughout the planning process, a Steering Committee made up of 22 members from across the County has been appointed by County staff. The Committee will serve as advocates for the vision, provide guidance and direction regarding the visioning process and substance, and become stewards of the vision once it is completed. During this kick-off meeting of the committee an overview presentation was shared that outlined the comprehensive plan’s purposes, overall approach to the process and timeline. The committee was also asked to share their thoughts and ideas on critical topics to address in the plan, as well as provide input and insight on the community engagement approach.

The Steering Committee includes the following individuals:

Erin Long Bergeson, Principal CPA, ELAC (County Council)
Bryan Clifton, Higher Grounds, LLC, Developer (County Planning Commission)
Christopher Farley, Southern Visions Real Estate, Broker
Owens Goff, DHEC, Chronic Disease & Injury Prevention; Healthy Community Development, Retired
(County Planning Commission)
Mike Greeley, Lexington Medical Center, Hospital Administrator
Megan Hutto, Hutto & Company LLC, Real Estate (County Planning Commission)
Tara Jerdan, The Boudreaux Group, Architect (County Planning Commission)
Lou Kennedy, Nephron Pharmaceuticals, Owner/CEO
David “Rock” Lucas, Sr., Charwood Country Club/Golf Course/Developer
Cheryl Matheny, FAICP, Matheny-Burns Group, Planning Consultant
Robert “Lee” Matthews, Dominion Energy, Administrator (County Planning Commission)
Tracy Mitchell, Self Employed Engineer (County Planning Commission)
Keith Myhand, Jumper/Carter/Sease Architects, Architect (County Planning Commission) (ex officio)
Robert “Wally” Price, III, Dominion Energy, Operations Management (County Planning Commission)
Rodrick Shiver, CPA, The Shiver Group, LLC
Kevin Steelman, LandTech Development, LLC, Developer
Fred Taylor, DHEC, Environmental Manager/Gilbert Zoning Administrator (County Planning Commission)
Reverend Kenneth Taylor, Turner Memorial AME Church, Pastor
Mike Taylor, Batesburg-Leesville Chamber of Commerce, President/CEO
Charli Wessinger, Bear Creek Christmas Tree Farm/Newberry College, Farmer/Educator (Potential County Council)
Scotty “Scott” Whetstone, Dominion Energy, Operations Supervisor (County Council Chairman)
Charles Wingard, W.P Rawl Family Farms, Vice President Field Operations

View the Steering Committee Presentation